Voting opens in Sioux Lookout online or by phone at 10 a.m. Saturday October 13.

Brian MacKinnonn explained what to do if you haven't received your voter information letter in the mail.

"Anyone who hasn't received a voter instructions letter, please contact the Municipal Office," he said.

Members of the public can contact the Sioux Lookout Municipal Office, 25 Fifth Avenue, at any time during regular business hours.

Sioux Lookout’s 2018 Municipal Election will be conducted by internet and telephone voting. There will be no paper ballots and no need to go to a Voting Place to vote.

Remote Voting Locations” will be established at the locations and during the days and times as shown below. Voter assistance and equipment will be available at all locations during the times noted:

Sioux Lookout Municipal Office, 25 Fifth Avenue, Clerk’s Department, during regular business hours, for the full Voting Period: 10:00 a.m., Saturday, October 13 to 8:00 p.m., Monday, October 22 (Voter Help Centre; public voting available)

Sioux Lookout Public Library, 21 Fifth Avenue, Community Media Room, during regular business hours, for the full Voting Period: 10:00 a.m., Saturday, October 13, to 8:00 p.m., Monday, October 22 (Voter Help Centre; public voting available)

Sioux Area Seniors Activity Centre, 66 Front Street, Back Room, Wednesday, October 17, 9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. (Members and public)
Cole Terrace, 62 Princess Street, Wednesday, October 17, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m., Common Room (tenants only)

Sioux Towers, 33 Third Avenue, Wednesday, October 17, 2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. (tenants only)

Nishnawbe-Gamik Friendship Centre, 55 King street, Thursday, October 18, 9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. (public)

Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre, 1 Meno Ya Win Way (off Seventh Avenue), Thursday, October 18, 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. (patients only)

William A. “Bill” George Extended Care Unit, 75 Fifth Avenue, Friday, October 19, 9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m., Lobby (ECU residents only)

Patricia Plaza, 30 Third Avenue, Friday, October 19, 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., Common Room (tenants only)

Voting closes on Monday October 22 at 8 p.m.

Sioux LOOKOUT candidates

More Local News

Dryden students cast their ballot

Students in Dryden took part in a mock municipal election. Students from Dryden High School, St Joseph's School, and New Prospect all agreed with the Dryden electorate and re-elected Greg Wilson as…

Wisconsin man fined $2500 for fishing violations

A Wisconsin man has been fined for fishing violations. Richard Estridge of Danbury pleaded guilty and was fined $1,800 for possessing six more walleye than allowed under the Ontario Fishery…

Wilson re-elected as Mayor

Incumbent Mayor Greg Wilson of Wilson's Business Solutions is hoping to follow-through on programs put in place during his first term in office, now that he's been re-elected as the city's…

Municipal elections results in for Dryden

Results are now available for the council seats in Dryden. The Mayor of Dryden is incumbent and businessman Greg Wilson. The council seat were won by; Returning councillor Norm BushReturning…

Lawrance elected in Sioux Lookout

Doug Lawrance has been re-elected as mayor of Sioux Lookout. He defeated former mayor Dennis Leney, who had also run in 2014. The municipality has been active in trying to improve long-term care for…

Mayor and council selected for Sioux Lookout

Results are in for Sioux Lookout's new council. The position of Mayor was won by incumbent Doug Lawrance. Sioux Loookout's councillors are:John BathJoyce TimpsonCory Allan LagoCalvin SouthallJoe…

Griffiths wins Machin election

Gord Griffiths has won the Mayor's seat in Machin. Griffiths has previously served two terms as a councillor for the municipality, and finished with 186 votes. He defeated Drew Myers, who served the…

Local school board results

Results for trustees from across the district are also in for local school boards. For the Keewatin-Patricia District School Board, the members are: Barb Gauthier has been re-elected as the Dryden…

Polls now closed in the district

Polls are closed for Municipal elections across the district. Greg Wilson is running for re-election against former mayor Roger Valley in Dryden. We're also watching some good races for the mayor's…

Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls has their mayor

Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls has their new Mayor. Ballots close at 8 p.m across Ontario, but Norbert Dufresne has been acclaimed Mayor of the Township. Dufrense was the only one nominated for the… is Kenora's only source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.

Search the Biz Guide